Wednesday, March 17


New coroner selected, no big surprises
in other election results    
Send a link to a friend

[MARCH 17, 2004]  While early risers saw some accumulation of a late-season snow and it continued to flurry a bit during Tuesday's primary election day, the weather really couldn't be considered a deterrent. Still polling places saw a slow day. Logan County saw 6,160 out of 19,915, or 31 percent, of the registered voters turn out.

What most likely contributed to the low counts was the shortage of contests.

The only contested local race was that of the coroner. Robert “Bob” Thomas, David Hepler and Don Peasley, all of Lincoln, all Republican, vied for the opportunity to replace Chuck Fricke as Logan County coroner.  

There was no Democratic nominee.

Even though there were three candidates to choose from, it still wasn't much of a contest. Like choosing between evenly matched beauty queens, each candidate carried the necessary skills and brought his own personal qualities that would lend to the position.

Thomas solidly won the race with 2,102 votes, or 46 percent. Peasley claimed 1,554 votes, and Hepler had 893 votes.

Another interest of those voting and those who came down to courthouse on Tuesday evening to follow up-to-the-minute results was that of the E-911 referendum. The Emergency Telephone System Board asked voters to approve a $1.10 increase in telephone surcharge for E-911 operating expenses.

Ninety-three percent of the Logan County voters who came out chose to vote on this issue. The measure passed 3,127 to 2,581.

The approval allows the board to restructure the Communications Room operation. Employees will be unified under one entity, the ETSB, rather than divided as separate city and county, simplifying operations.

The increase also funds important upgrades of aging equipment. Replacing antiquated equipment will reduce escalating parts and labor costs, as well as potentially preventing unscheduled downtime.

Logan County also had a resident running for the U.S. Senate. Jonathan Wright carried the Republican vote in Logan County with 2,151 votes, or 48.8 percent, but received only 2.6 percent of the statewide vote, at 17,189 (with 11,742 of 11,745 precincts reporting). Jack Ryan won the Republican nomination with 234,485 votes, or 35.5 percent. The U.S. Senate Democratic candidate for Illinois is Barack Obama, with 652,530 votes, or 52.7 percent. (The figures for Ryan and Obama are with 11,742 of 11,745 precincts reporting.)

Other nearby referendums of interest

(With 22 of 24 precincts reporting)

Olympia Community Unit School District 16 increase in maximum annual education tax rate

No: 2,400

Yes: 1,944

Olympia Community Unit School District 16 increase maximum annual operations and maintenance tax rate

No: 2,488

Yes: 1,831

Logan County uncontested races

Circuit clerk

Republican: Carla Bender, 3,950 votes

Democrat: No candidate

State's attorney

Republican: Timothy J. Huyett, 3,682 votes

Democrat: No candidate filed


[to top of second column in this article]

Logan County Board:

District 1

Republican: William Sahs, 775 votes

Democrat: No candidate filed

District 2

Republican: Richard E. "Dick" Logan, 573 votes

Democrat: No candidate filed

District 3

Republican: Gloria Luster, 604 votes

Democrat: No candidate filed

District 4

Republican: George M. Mitchell, 500 votes

Democrat: No candidate filed

District 5

Republican: Patrick L. O'Neill, 671 votes

Democrat: No candidate filed

District 6

Republican: Veronica Hasprey, 630 votes

Democrat: No candidate filed

State and regional

Delegate to the national nominating convention, 18th Congressional District

Republican Carla Bender chosen as one of four

State senator, 44th Legislative District

Republican: William E. Brady

Democrat: No candidate

State senator, 50th Legislative District

Republican: Larry K. Bomke

Democrat: No candidate

Representative in the General Assembly,
87th Representative District

Republican: Bill Mitchell

Democrat: No candidate

Representative in the General Assembly,
100th Representative District

Republican: Rich Brauer

Democrat: No candidate

Judge of the circuit court, 11th Judicial Circuit

Republican: Scott D. Drazewski

Democrat: No candidate filed

Other races

Representative in Congress

18th Congressional District

Republican: Ray LaHood

Democrat: Steve Waterworth


President of the United States

Republican: George W. Bush

Democrat: John F. Kerry

Illinois clinched the U.S. nomination for Kerry.

The Logan County results for that race were as follows:

Republican: George W. Bush, 3,414 votes,
100 percent

Democrat: John F. Kerry, 815 votes,
72.12 percent

[Jan Youngquist]

< Top Stories index

Back to top


News | Sports | Business | Rural Review | Teaching & Learning | Home and Family | Tourism | Obituaries

Community | Perspectives | Law & Courts | Leisure Time | Spiritual Life | Health & Fitness | Teen Scene
Calendar | Letters to the Editor