Monday, May 17


Two new appointments to Executive Ethics Commission make a quorum

New commission can begin work       Send a link to a friend

[MAY 17, 2004]  CHICAGO -- On Friday Gov. Rod Blagojevich appointed Father John Cusick and Ellen Craig to the Illinois Executive Ethics Commission. Craig and Cusick join Scott Turow as the governor's appointments to the commission.

"We looked for highly qualified individuals with mature judgment and impeccable integrity. We found those unique qualities in Ellen Craig and Reverend John Cusick," said Gov. Blagojevich.

Rev. Cusick, ordained a priest for the Archdiocese of Chicago in 1970, is the director of young adult ministry for the archdiocese. He is responsible for the church's outreach to women and men in their 20s and 30s, married and single. The ministry office and his residence are at the Old St. Patrick's Church in downtown Chicago.

Ellen Craig, from Chicago, is a telecommunications and utility consultant with significant experience in regulatory law, public policy and management in the private and public sectors. She currently serves as senior adviser to The Brattle Group, an economic and regulatory consultancy. She previously held positions as director of regulatory affairs for CoreComm Communications and as vice president of regulatory affairs for USN Communications. She also served as chairman and commissioner to the Illinois Commerce Commission, 1989-1994; deputy chief of staff to Gov. James Thompson, 1987-1989; and as law and policy adviser to Gov. Thompson, 1978-1989.

The Executive Ethics Commission, a component of sweeping ethics reform, was signed into law by Gov. Blagojevich last December. The monumental ethics reform package provides more definitive rules regarding what constitutes improper use of state time and resources, improves ethics training and reporting procedures, and establishes strong enforcement mechanisms to ensure ethics rules are followed. The nine-member commission will review and determine appropriate action in cases brought forward by the executive inspectors general and represented by the attorney general.


[to top of second column in this article]

The governor appoints five members to the commission; and the attorney general, secretary of state, state treasurer and comptroller each appoint one member. Appointments require confirmation by the Illinois Senate. Commission members cannot be state government employees. They receive the same part-time salary rate as members of the Illinois State Board of Elections.

With six members appointed to the commission, a quorum is in place and work can begin. Members of the Executive Ethics Commission are:

  • Ellen Craig, appointed by the governor
  • Scott Turow, appointed by the governor
  • John Cusick, appointed by the governor
  • Maria Kuzas, appointed by Secretary of State Jesse White
  • James Faught, appointed by Comptroller Dan Hynes
  • Frederick Hess, appointed by Treasurer Judy Baar Topinka

Three positions are currently vacant.

[News release from the governor's office]

< Top Stories index

Back to top


News | Sports | Business | Rural Review | Teaching & Learning | Home and Family | Tourism | Obituaries

Community | Perspectives | Law & Courts | Leisure Time | Spiritual Life | Health & Fitness | Teen Scene
Calendar | Letters to the Editor