Sports NewsMutterings,

CalendarSports News Elsewhere  (fresh daily from the Web)

Tuesday, Nov. 16

Williams on Rupp watch list     Send a link to a friend

[NOV. 16, 2004]  LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Big Ten Preseason Player of the Year Deron Williams is one of 21 players listed on the preseason watch list for the Adolph F. Rupp Trophy.

The ACC dominates the list of 21 players included on the list announced Friday. The preseason list includes eight ACC players, three from the Big 12 and two players each from the Big 10, Conference USA, the SEC and Pac 10. Individual programs leading the picks were North Carolina with three inclusions and Oklahoma State with two picks.

The entire Rupp preseason watch list, listed by conference, follows:

  • John Gilchrist, Maryland
  • Julius Hodge, North Carolina State
  • Jarret Jack, Georgia Tech
  • Sean May, North Carolina
  • Rashad McCants, North Carolina
  • Raymond Felton, North Carolina
  • Chris Paul, Wake Forest
  • J.J. Reddick, Duke
  • Joey Graham, Oklahoma State
  • John Lucas, Oklahoma State
  • Wayne Simien, Kansas
  • Deron Williams, Illinois
  • Bracey Wright, Indiana
  • Ryan Gomes, Providence
  • Hakim Warrick, Syracuse
  • Francisco Garcia, Louisville
  • Curtis Withers, University of North Carolina-Charlotte
  • Hassan Adams, Arizona
  • Ike Diogu, Arizona State
  • Chuck Hayes, Kentucky
  • Lawrence Roberts, Mississippi State

[to top of second column in this article]

The Rupp Trophy for the nation's best player will be awarded at the NCAA Final Four in St. Louis. Last year's winner, Jameer Nelson of St. Joseph's, went on to become a first-round draft pick for Denver and was later traded to the Orlando Magic.

More information on the Rupp Trophy can be found at

[News release]

LDN sports sponsored by:


< Sports index

Back to top


News | Sports | Business | Rural Review | Teaching & Learning | Home and Family | Tourism | Obituaries

Community | Perspectives | Law & Courts | Leisure Time | Spiritual Life | Health & Fitness | Teen Scene
Calendar | Letters to the Editor