Calendar | Community | Milestones | Good Neighbors

Family and Friends in the Armed Forces | Reunions | Reminiscence

CIEDC Corner
CIEDC on the Web

CIEDC scholarship recipients          Send a link to a friend

[OCT. 4, 2006]  Central Illinois Economic Development Corp. has announced its 2006 Community Services Block Grant Scholarship recipients. The Department of Commerce and Economic Development has made funds for these scholarships available to income-eligible individuals of high academic merit or potential. Applicants attend an Illinois college and reside in Fulton, DeWitt, Logan, Mason, Menard or Piatt County, which is CIEDC's six-county service area.

The recipients are Kimberly Scheuerman and Elizabeth Porter of Piatt County, Ross Horn and Raymond Horn of Menard County, Kourtney Hass of DeWitt County, Amy Bramwell of Mason County, and Kathryn McIntosh of Logan County. They each received $1,000 to use toward expenses they will incur in continuing their education.

The recipients are chosen by the scholarship committee on CIEDC's corporate board. According to Kathy Shepherd, CIEDC's Community Services Block Grant director, "It was a real challenge for the board members to choose the recipients this year because the applicants were so academically qualified and deserving of this educational grant."

[to top of second column]

CIEDC wishes all the scholarship recipients good luck in their future academic endeavors.

CIEDC, Community Action, serves low-income residents in many capacities, including the community service program, LIHEAP, weatherization, senior nutrition and transportation, homemaker program, foster grandparents, Community Services Block Grant loans and Head Start.

[Central Illinois Economic Development Corp. news release]


< Recent articles

Back to top


News | Sports | Business | Rural Review | Teaching & Learning | Home and Family | Tourism | Obituaries

Community | Perspectives | Law & Courts | Leisure Time | Spiritual Life | Health & Fitness | Teen Scene
Calendar | Letters to the Editor