Friday, November 12, 2010
sponsored by

LJHS speakers compete in tourney

Send a link to a friend

[November 12, 2010]  The Lincoln Junior High School speech team competed at the IESA State Speech Contest on Saturday at Mount Pulaski. With 30 entries, the team earned 19 first-place ratings, eight second-place ratings and three third-place ratings.

Judges' Choice awards for outstanding performances went to the following LJHS participants:
  • Small group -- Graham Hill, Courtney Miller and Fiona Peterson-Quinn performing "The Young and the Soapless."

  • Duets -- Zach McCray and Alyssa Zimmer performing "Tub Talk"; Darria Campbell and Sarah Kaestner performing "Hut, Hut, Hut"; and Graham Hill and Fiona Peterson-Quinn performing "Hood-Winked."

The following LJHS performances received first-place medals:

  • Solos -- Cameron Halpin and Kieran Foster.


  • Duets -- Kieran Foster and Kylee Foster, Zach McCray and Alyssa Zimmer, Amanda Jones and Alishia DeBoard, Graham Hill and Fiona Perterson-Quinn, Victoria Parrott and Allison Bone, and Hayley Barton and Logan Keysear.

  • Small groups -- Brianna Dye, Jade Mileham, Emily Sanders, Samantha Shreve and Callie Harbour; Graham Hill, Courtney Miller and Fiona Peterson-Quinn; and Colton Clark, Austin Dennison and Alissa Harvey.

  • Improv duets -- Graham Hill and Fiona Peterson-Quinn, Steven Schleich and Elijah Chapman, Kieran Foster and Kylee Foster, Sarah Kaestner and Darria Campbell, Hayley Barton and Logan Keysear, Zach McCray and Alyssa Zimmer, and Colton Clark and Courney Miller.

Second-place awards went to the following LJHS performances:

  • Duets -- Madison Frederick and Tannah Snodgrass, Darria Campbell and Sarah Kaestner, and Elijah Chapman and Steven Schleich.

  • Small group -- Tiffany Dooley, Hannah Koeppen and Maddie Shreve.

  • Improv duets -- Tiffany Dooley and Amanda Jones, Cameron Halpin and Alissa Harvey, McKenzie Landers and Max Landers, Allison Bone and Vicoria Parrot, Jade Mileham and Emily Sanders, and Maddie Shreve and Hannah Koeppen.

[to top of second column]

Third-place awards went to the following performances:

  • Duet -- McKenzie Landers and Max Landers.

  • Imrov duets -- Ausin Dennison and Madison Frederick, and Brianna Dye and Samantha Shreve.

Coaches for the team are Grace Hepler and Lorna Searby.

[Text from file received from Lorna Searby]



< Top Stories index

Back to top


News | Sports | Business | Rural Review | Teaching and Learning | Home and Family | Tourism | Obituaries

Community | Perspectives | Law and Courts | Leisure Time | Spiritual Life | Health and Fitness | Teen Scene
Calendar | Letters to the Editor