Wednesday, July 06, 2011
sponsored by

Ladd elected chairman of Route 66 Scenic Byway

Send a link to a friend

[July 06, 2011]  Under the National Scenic Byways program, the U.S. Secretary of Transportation recognizes roads that possess outstanding scenic, historic, recreational, cultural, archeological or natural qualities by designating them as either National Scenic Byways or All-American Roads. One of those roads runs through Logan County -- Route 66.

The Illinois Route 66 Scenic Byway organization has been chaired by Atlanta resident Bill Thomas for the last few years, until his term ended last month. Logan County still is represented in this top position, as Geoff Ladd was voted the new chairman.

Ladd has many years of experience with promoting tourism and Route 66 in Logan County, making him an easy fit into this position. He is the executive director for the Abraham Lincoln Tourism Bureau of Logan County, chairman of the Route 66 Heritage Foundation of Logan County and also helped with saving and preserving The Mill on 66. As a board member he has worked very closely with Jeanette Cowden and Bill Kelly of the Scenic Byway and looks forward to taking on this new role.

[Text from file received from Abraham Lincoln Tourism Bureau of Logan County]

< Top Stories index

Back to top


News | Sports | Business | Rural Review | Teaching and Learning | Home and Family | Tourism | Obituaries

Community | Perspectives | Law and Courts | Leisure Time | Spiritual Life | Health and Fitness | Teen Scene
Calendar | Letters to the Editor