LOGAN COUNTY BOARD ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MONDAY, DECEMBER 3, 2012 LOGAN COUNTY COURTHOUSE, LINCOLN, ILLINOIS

The meeting was called to order by Chairman, Robert Farmer.

Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag was led by Diane Farmer.

<u>Members Present:</u> Andy Anderson; Rick Aylesworth; Kevin Bateman; Terry Carlton; Bob Farmer; David Hepler; Bill Martin; Pat O'Neill; Gene Rohlfs; Chuck Ruben; Jan Schumacher <u>Absent:</u> Andrew Meister <u>Guests:</u> Doug Muck; Diane Farmer; Derek Hurley; Jon Wright

Mr. Farmer appointed a committee of three members to examine the Credentials of Election provided by the County Clerk of newly elected members. The committee included: Terry Carlton; Rick Aylesworth and Kevin Bateman. The committee found that everything was in order. Chairman Farmer authorized the newly elected members to be seated.

The Clerk asked the members, by district, to draw lot for two and four year terms.

District 1:	Bill Martin – 2 years	Chuck Ruben – 4 years
District 2:	Robert Farmer – 2 years	Jan Schumacher – 4 years
District 3:	Andrew Meister – 2 years	Rick Aylesworth – 4 years
District 4:	David Hepler – 2 years	Gene Rohlfs – 4 years
District 5:	Andy Anderson – 2 years	Pat O'Neill – 4 years
District 6:	Terry Carlton – 2 years	Kevin Bateman – 4 years

Chairman Farmer accepted nominations for Chairman Pro-Temp to run the Organizational meeting. A <u>motion</u> was made by Mr. Anderson, seconded by Mr. Rohlfs, nominating Dave Hepler. Motion passed. Mr. Hepler was seated as Chairman Pro-Temp.

Mr. Hepler accepted nominations for Chairman of the County Board. A <u>motion</u> was made by Mr. Aylesworth, seconded by Mr. Ruben, nominating Robert Farmer as Chairman of the County Board. Mr. Hepler asked three times if there were any other nominations. None were brought forward. A <u>motion</u> was made by Mrs. Schumacher, seconded by Mr. Bateman, to close the nominations for Chairman of the County Board. Motion passed. Roll call vote was taken on the motion nominating Robert Farmer as Chairman of the County Board. 11 yes 0 no Motion passed.

Mr. Hepler accepted nominations for Vice-Chairman of the Logan County Board. A <u>motion</u> was made by Mr. Anderson, seconded by Mr. Martin, to nominate Dave Hepler as Vice-Chairman of the Logan County Board. A <u>motion</u> was made by Mr. Carlton, seconded by Mrs. Schumacher, to nominate Chuck Ruben as Vice-Chairman of the Logan County Board. Mr. Hepler asked three times of there were any other nominations. None were brought forward. A <u>motion</u> was made by Mr. Martin, seconded by Mr. O'Neill, to close the nominations for Vice-Chairman of the County Board. Motion passed. Roll call vote was taken on the motion nominating Dave Hepler as Vice-Chairman of the County Board. 5 yes 5 no 1 present Motion failed. Roll call vote was taken on the motion nominating Chuck Ruben as Vice-Chairman of the County Board. 5 yes 5 no 1 present Motion failed. Roll call vote was taken on the motion nominating Chuck Ruben as Vice-Chairman of the County Board. 5 yes 5 no 1 present Motion failed. Roll call vote was taken on the motion nominating Chuck Ruben as Vice-Chairman of the County Board. 5 yes 5 no 1 present Motion failed. State's Attorney Jon Wright was consulted to determine how the Vice Chairman would be selected. A <u>motion to reconsider</u> was made by Mr. Anderson, seconded by Mr. Aylesworth. Roll call vote taken 4 yes 7 no Motion to reconsider failed. Mr. Wright announced it would be necessary to determine Vice-Chairman by coin flip. He assigned the heads side to Mr. Hepler and tails side to Mr. Ruben. The coin was flipped by Mr. Wright and landed heads-up. Mr. Hepler was declared the Vice-Chairman of the County Board.

Newly elected Chairman, Robert Farmer, was seated.

A <u>motion</u> was made by Mr. Hepler, seconded by Mr. Martin, to accept the appointment of David Hepler as Parliamentarian to the Logan County Board. Motion passed.

Mr. Farmer reported he will make committee assignment recommendations at the December Board of Whole meeting on December 12, 2012. He asked that the members continue on their current committee assignments until that time.

A <u>motion</u> was made by Mr. Ruben, seconded by Mr. Carlton, to adopt the County Financial Policies LO 09-10 90, as amended. Roll call vote 11 yes 0 no Motion passed.

A <u>motion</u> was made by Mr. Carlton, seconded by Mr. Aylesworth, to adopt the County Board Policy and Procedures LO 09-10 65, as amended. Roll call vote 11 yes 0 no Motion passed.

Mr. Farmer thanked the members for the honor of being Chairman for the past two years and for their confidence in selecting him as Chairman for the next two years.

A motion to adjourn was made by Mr. O'Neill, seconded by Mr. Rohlfs. Motion passed. Meeting adjourned at 10:22 am.