Tuesday, November 20, 2012
sponsored by

Emergency Management Agency presents volunteer and professional recognitions

Send a link to a friend

[November 20, 2012]  At Thursday evening's Logan County Board meeting in the Logan County Courthouse, there were about two dozen extra guests. They were there for a Logan County Emergency Management Agency presentation of special awards.

Dan Fulscher, EMA director, made the presentations. He called forth four people for commendation. These people were recognized for their dedication to serving the community.

"This is the time of year that we really enjoy," said Fulscher.

The first award given was a Special Merit for Outstanding Community Volunteer.

"We had two people that were volunteers that our committee, as we were looking at this, it seemed like every time we turned around in the community, they were involved," said Fulscher.

The Special Merit was awarded to Roy Logan and Marcia Greenslate. These two volunteers are frequently seen at the balloon festival, at any celebration for the city of Lincoln and at the park district's gathering for the Fourth of July.

"They always do it with such a smile on their face," said Fulscher. "People look at you (Logan and Greenslate) and they smile, and they have a good time; and there is no doubt in our minds that we are very proud to give Marcia and Roy this Special Merit Award."

Greenslate commented: "I can honestly say that I wasn't prepared. When we were first invited by Dan to come, we looked at each other, and we were like, 'What's that about?'" She also said that being active in the community is big part of who they are.

Logan wasn't expecting it either. He said: "My first question was, 'We're not in trouble are we?'"

The second award presented was the Larry Shroyer Award.

"This is for people in emergency management and emergency services and the community who have dedicated their life to emergency services," said Fulscher.

This year the award was given to two people.

The first of the recipients was John Bunner.

Bunner began his 35-year service in law enforcement in 1977, when he joined the Lincoln Police Department. He was promoted to corporal in 1982 and again to sergeant and detective in 1989. He retired from the city police in 2006 and became a truant officer for the regional superintendent of schools for the following year. Bunner was hired by the Logan County Sheriff's Department as a lead detective in 2007 and is still employed there.

The sheriff often attends board meetings as part of security measures.

A surprised Bunner said: "Sheriff Nichols told me to be here tonight, and he didn't tell me anything about this. I do appreciate this award and thank you very much."

[to top of second column]

The second recipient was Terry Storer.

Storer came to Lincoln in December of 1977. He was a paramedic with Abraham Lincoln Memorial Hospital from that point until December 1999. He is also former adjunct faculty member at the University of Illinois-Urbana. From 1995 through 2005, he worked as a firefighter and paramedic with the Lincoln Rural Fire Protection District. Storer joined the Logan County Emergency Management Agency in December 2000 as deputy director and continues in that position.

"Terry's probably the only person I know of who takes a pay cut from paramedic to come work as assistant director," said Fulscher.

In 2004 and 2012, Storer led in the development of a state-level homeland security plan. In 2004, Logan County was the first county selected to run such a plan. Storer is the only individual in the state of Illinois who has led such a development process twice.

"That is the benchmark that is being taught to the rest of the people in Illinois," said Fulscher.

Storer is also in charge of the communications plan and the hazard mitigations plan.

Fuslcher said he was surprised when he realized Storer's name was not on the list of award recipients before this year.

"Talk about EMA 911's 'wind beneath the wings,'" said Fulscher.

In accepting his award, Storer said: "It's an honor. I've worked with some great people. Logan County is fortunate because we've got a group of volunteers throughout the county that give so much."

This award was first given in 2000 and is named for Larry Shroyer. Shroyer was one of the men present when the Logan County Safety Complex was opened and paid for, and he wrote one of the first emergency management operation plans for the county.

Past recipients of the Larry Shroyer Award:

  • 2000 -- Carl Faith, Glenn Mason

  • 2001 -- Gene Bathe, Everett Kennett

  • 2002 -- Doug Dutz, Roger Leesman

  • 2003 -- Ernest Jeckel, Warren Wendlandt

  • 2004 -- Stan Anderson, Mark Mann

  • 2005 -- Jim Hubrich, Robert "Bucky" Washam Jr.

  • 2006 -- Dianne Ruff, Norma Bathe

  • 2007 -- Mike Patridge, Steve Siltman

  • 2008 -- Stuart Erlenbush, Dick Logan

  • 2009 -- Steve Nichols

  • 2010 -- Rick Bacon, Bob Thomas

  • 2011 -- Barb Kline, Randy Conklen


< Top Stories index

Back to top


News | Sports | Business | Rural Review | Teaching and Learning | Home and Family | Tourism | Obituaries

Community | Perspectives | Law and Courts | Leisure Time | Spiritual Life | Health and Fitness | Teen Scene
Calendar | Letters to the Editor