Lincoln/Logan County Chamber of Commerce annual dinner

Album 2

[Click on photos below to enlarge.]

[January 28, 2013]     Send a link to a friend

This year the Pride and Progress Award winners were:  Beautification award; Deron Powell, Business of the Year: Seth Goodman, Excellence in Service;  Prairie Engineers of Central Illinois, Volunteer of the Year; Chris Graue, New Business; Logan County Herald.

Pictures by Nila Smith

Executive Director Andi Hake kicks off the hourlong program that included the Pride and Progress Awards and presentations from a number of past presidents.

Eric Graue, immediate past president, spoke about the 2012 year and the work of the chamber during the year.


Deron Powell received the Beautification Award. In 2012 Powell had a ribbon- cut for his new State Farm Insurance office in Mount Pulaski. When his historic building suddenly collapsed in 2011, Powell rebuilt on the same spot, adding a beautiful new structure to the downtown area of Mount Pulaski and helping to keep the town square a thriving business center for the community.

Seth Goodman of ME Realty was awarded the Business of the Year.  In 2012 Goodman made the roll call of Realtor Magazine's 30 Under 30: the top 30 Realtors under the age of 30 years old nationwide. Goodman's real estate transactions in 2012 topped $20,000,000, a remarkable feat for a community the size of Lincoln, and a new Logan County record. The previous record was also held by Goodman and achieved in 2011.

Chris Graue was awarded the 2012 Mike Abbott Volunteer of the Year Award. Graue is well known in the Lincoln and Logan County community as a supporter of many community projects and a reliable "go-to" person for the chamber. He was heavily involved in creating the annual Up in Smoke barbecue competition at the annual Lincoln Art &and Balloon Festival and has worked diligently to grow that program into a great success for the chamber.

Eric Graue, immediate past president,  looks on as the new 2013 president of the chamber, Don Peasley, introduces this year's retiring board members.







Departing board members included Donna Boyd, pictured second from the left, who's been on the board since 2006. Marty Ahrends, standing to the right of Boyd, has also been on the board since 2007. Not present for the evening were departing members Dave Schonauer, who has served since 2007, and  Kevin Kurtz, who has also served since 2007.

Bill Gossett was the president of the chamber of commerce in 1962. Gossett is a dynamic speaker who kept the audience in stitches for the first few minutes of his talk. He noted the highlight of his year of presidency was in getting the railroad taken out of the middle of Chicago Street.



Back to top


News | Sports | Business | Rural Review | Teaching & Learning | Home and Family | Tourism | Obituaries

Community | Perspectives | Law & Courts | Leisure Time | Spiritual Life | Health & Fitness | Teen Scene
Calendar | Letters to the Editor