The "Attention to Detail" tour program kicks off Saturday with Mike
Jackson, an architect and deputy state historic preservation
officer, explaining the painstaking work done to restore the
Dana-Thomas House to its full glory.
Other "Attention to Detail" tours will take place two Saturdays a
month from April through July and will be led by veteran tour guide
Frank Marchant, who has volunteered at the Dana-Thomas House for
more than 23 years. He'll share timeless stories and insights about
restoration of the house, such as the elaborate process used to
finish the home's distinct architectural frieze.
"Attention to Detail" tours will last approximately two hours,
with a suggested donation of $20 per person.
In addition, Marchant will offer a different afternoon tour, "Of
Glass and Wood," that will focus exclusively on the house's art
glass and handmade oak furniture. "Of Glass and Wood" tours will
last about one hour, with a suggested donation of $15 per person.
Reservations are strongly encouraged, since tours will be limited
to 15 guests. Call 217-782-6776 to reserve your space.
- 1:15 p.m. -- "Attention to Detail: Restoration of the
April 6 and 20
May 4 and 18
[to top of second column]
June 15 and 29
July 6 and 20
Mike Jackson, a fellow of the American Institute of Architects,
has more than 30 years of experience in the field of historic
preservation. He was project manager for the Dana-Thomas House
restoration that took place from 1985 to 1990. Jackson, a visiting
professor of architecture at the University of Illinois at
Urbana-Champaign, is a founding member of the Association for
Preservation Technology Committee on Sustainable Heritage.
Frank Marchant, a docent at the Dana-Thomas House for over 23
years, has visited more than 250 sites designed by Frank Lloyd
Wright. A Wright fan since the age of 8, Marchant has presented
special tours at two other Wright-designed sites.
The Dana-Thomas House was built between 1902 and 1904. It is
perhaps the best-preserved of Wright's Prairie-style homes, with
more than 400 pieces of specially made art glass and original
furnishings. The house, located at Fourth and Lawrence streets in
Springfield, is operated by the Illinois Historic Preservation
Agency and is open Wednesday through Sunday for public tours.
For more information, visit
[Text from file received from the
Illinois Historic Preservation Agency]