Memorial Physician Services–Lincoln receives national medical-home recognition

Send a link to a friend 

[November 09, 2013]  Memorial Physician Services–Lincoln was recognized as a Level 3 Patient-Centered Medical Home, the highest level possible, by the National Committee for Quality Assistance in its Patient-Centered Medical Home 2011 program.

The designation recognizes the Lincoln clinic program for using evidence-based, patient-centered processes that focus on highly coordinated care and long-term relationships.

The patient-centered medical home is a model of care emphasizing care coordination and communication to transform primary care into what patients want it to be. Research shows that medical homes can lead to higher quality that can improve patients' and providers' reported experiences of care.

"Patient-centered medical homes are rapidly gaining momentum and attention as an innovative approach to primary care," said Dr. Paul Kasa, medical director of Memorial Physician Services–Lincoln. "The intent is to offer more personalized, coordinated, effective and efficient care."

To receive the Level 3 recognition, which is valid for three years, Memorial Physician Services–Lincoln demonstrated the ability to meet the program's key elements, embodying characteristics of the medical home.

The designation puts Memorial Physician Services–Lincoln on par with a small but elite group of health care providers nationwide that have been able to achieve Level 3 status, said Dr. Gerald Suchomski, medical director of quality programs for Memorial Physician Services.

The NCQA PCMH 2011 recognition program identifies practices that promote partnerships between individual patients and their personal health care providers, rather than treating patient care as the sum of episodic office visits.

Each patient's care at Memorial Physician Services is delivered by physician-led care teams that provide all health care needs and coordinate treatment across the health care system, Suchomski said. Medical home health care providers demonstrate the benchmarks of patient-centered care, including open scheduling, expanded hours and appropriate use of proven health information systems.

[to top of second column]

"The patient-centered medical home raises the bar in defining high-quality care by emphasizing access, health information technology, and partnerships between clinicians and patients," said Margaret E. O'Kane, NCQA president. "PCMH 2011 recognition shows that Memorial Physician Services–Lincoln has the tools, systems and resources to provide their patients with the right care at the right time."

To achieve Level 3 recognition, a health care organization must successfully comply with six must-pass elements, such as access during office hours and referral tracking and follow-up.

In addition to Lincoln, Memorial Physician Services has primary-care clinics in Springfield, Chatham, Jacksonville and Petersburg. The other primary-care locations were also recognized.

The National Committee for Quality Assistance is a private, nonprofit organization dedicated to improving health care quality. NCQA accredits and certifies a wide range of health care organizations. It also recognizes clinicians and practices in key areas of performance. NCQA is committed to providing health care quality information for consumers, purchasers, health care providers and researchers.

[Text from file received from Memorial Health System]

< Recent articles

Back to top