The bill would require employers to provide at least three days of
annual paid sick leave to workers, who would accrue the time off at
a rate of one hour per 30 hours worked.
If Brown signs the measure into law, California will join
Connecticut as the only states mandating paid sick leave, according
to the National Conference of State Legislatures.
“Tonight, the Legislature took historic action to help hardworking
Californians," Brown said in a statement. "This bill guarantees that
millions of workers - from Eureka to San Diego - won’t lose their
jobs or pay just because they get sick."
The bill passed the state Senate with a 22-8 vote late Friday and
the Assembly early Saturday morning with a 52-25 vote.
Business groups have mostly opposed efforts to impose mandatory paid
sick leave, saying that they could force businesses to pare back
work forces and raise prices.
In contrast, some Democratic lawmakers said the California measure
did not go far enough, because it does not cover home health care
workers, most of whom are women.
“I resent the fact that we are picking between two sets of workers,”
state Senator Holly Mitchell told the Sacramento Bee newspaper.
[to top of second column]
According to the Washington, D.C.-based Institute for Women’s Policy
Research, some 44 percent of California workers may not have access
to paid sick days.
A small but growing number of local governments
have passed paid sick leave mandates, with San Francisco in 2006
becoming the first U.S. city to do so.
(Reporting by Brendan O'Brien; Editing by Jonathan Kaminsky and
[© 2014 Thomson Reuters. All rights
Copyright 2014 Reuters. All rights reserved. This material may not be published,
broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.