Auto Racing Glance

Send a link to a friend  Share

[June 29, 2017]  The Sports Xchange

MONSTER ENERGY NASCAR CUP SERIES: COKE ZERO 400 (160 laps, 400 miles on a 2.5-mile tri-oval), Daytona International Speedway; Daytona Beach, Fla.

TV: Saturday, 7:30 p.m. ET -- NBC (Radio: Motor Racing Network/SiriusXM Channel 90).

THIS WEEK: This will be the 141st NASCAR Cup race held at its most famous race track. ... It will also be the final Cup race at Daytona for Dale Earnhardt Jr., who is retiring at the end of this season ... NBC Sports will televise the final 20 races of the season; FOX completed its 16-race part of the broadcast schedule this past Sunday at Sonoma. ... Kevin Harvick won at Sonoma for the first time in his career and the first time in 2017 this past Sunday. ... Brad Keselowski is the defending winner of last summer's Coke Zero 400. Kurt Busch won this year's season-opening Daytona 500. ... Chase Elliott announced earlier this week that he has signed a contract extension through 2022 with Hendrick Motorsports. ... Kyle Larson remains atop the NASCAR Cup standings (659 points). Martin Truex Jr. is second (646 points), followed by Harvick (548), Kyle Busch (542), Keselowski (519), Chase Elliott (509), Jimmie Johnson (483), Jamie McMurray (477), Denny Hamlin (476) and Joey Logano (434).

NASCAR XFINITY SERIES: COCA-COLA FIRECRACKER 250, (100 laps, 250 miles around a 2.5-mile tri-oval), Daytona International Speedway; Daytona Beach, Fla.

TV: Friday, 7:30 p.m. ET -- NBCSN (Radio: Motor Racing Network/SiriusXM Channel 90).

THIS WEEK: This will be the 52nd Xfinity Series race at Daytona. ... Aric Almirola won this race last year. Ryan Reed won this year's season-opening Xfinity race at Daytona. ... William Byron earned his first career Xfinity Series win this past weekend at Iowa Speedway. ... Elliott Sadler (502 points) remains No. 1 in the Xfinity driver rankings. Justin Allgaier is second (477 points), followed by Byron (445), Daniel Hemric (356), Reed (347), Brennan Poole (336), Cole Custer (322), Darrell Wallace Jr. (321) and Matt Tifft (310).

NASCAR CAMPING WORLD TRUCK SERIES: The series is off this weekend. The next race is July 6 at Kentucky Speedway.

THIS WEEK: This will be the 11th Truck Series race at Iowa Speedway. ... Byron won this race last year. ... John Hunter Nemechek won last weekend at Iowa, making it two wins in a row for the son of veteran NASCAR driver Joe Nemechek. The younger Nemechek is one of only two drivers with multiple wins this season. Christopher Bell also has two Truck Series wins in 2017. ... Johnny Sauter (433) remains No. 1 in the point standings, followed by Bell (391), Chase Briscoe (357), Matt Crafton (338), Ben Rhodes (310), Grant Enfinger (300), Ryan Truex (292), Nemechek (280), Noah Gragson (255) and Kaz Grala (247).

[to top of second column]

VERIZON INDYCAR SERIES: The series is off this weekend. The next race July 9, the Iowa Corn 300, at Iowa Speedway.

THIS WEEK: Scott Dixon won his first race of 2017 in this past Sunday's Kohler Grand Prix at Road America. Josef Newgarden was second, followed by Helio Castroneves. It was IndyCar's second race at Road America, in Elkart Lake, Wis. ... Winners of the first 10 races have been Sebastien Bourdais (St. Petersburg), James Hinchcliffe (Long Beach), Newgarden (Alabama) Simon Pagenaud (Phoenix), Will Power (IndyCar Grand Prix), Takuma Sato (Indy 500), Graham Rahal (both Belle Isle races), Power (Texas) and Dixon (Road America). ... Dixon (379 points) remains No. 1 in the IndyCar standings, followed by Pagenaud (345 points), Castroneves (342), Sato (323), Newgarden (318), Power (316), Rahal (307), Tony Kanaan (273), Alexander Rossi (271) and Ed Jones (254).

NATIONAL HOT ROD ASSOCIATION, MELLO YELLO DRAG RACING SERIES: There is no race this weekend. The next national event will be start of the second half of the 2017 season with the NHRA Route 66 Nationals, July 6-9, at Route 66 Raceway in Joliet, Ill.

THIS WEEK: The NHRA reached the midpoint (12th race) of the 24-race season at this past weekend's Summit Racing Equipment Nationals in Norwalk, Ohio. ... Winners of the Summit Racing Equipment Nationals were Steve Torrence (Top Fuel), Jack Beckman (Funny Car), Bo Butner (Pro Stock) and L.E. Tonglet (Pro Stock Motorcycle). It was Torrence's fourth win (a career-best single-season mark) in the first 12 races, the third win of the season for both Butner and Tonglet, and Beckman's second win of 2017. ... Points leaders: Top Fuel -- Torrence (1,071), Leah Pritchett (1,021), Antron Brown (990), Tony Schumacher (856) and Doug Kalitta (781); Funny Car -- Ron Capps (1,095), Matt Hagan (946), Jack Beckman (855), Robert Hight (809) and Tommy Johnson Jr. (739); Pro Stock -- Bo Butner (1,067), Greg Anderson (941), Tanner Gray (887), Jeg Coughlin (820), Jason Line (781); Pro Stock Motorcycle -- L.E. Tonglet (480), Eddie Krawiec (389), Scotty Pollacheck (325), Jerry Savoie (322) and Andrew Hines (317).


[ 2017 Thomson Reuters. All rights reserved.]

Copyright 2017 Reuters. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Back to top