LaHood Route 66 bill gets legislative hearing
Legislation would designate Route 66 as a National Historic Trail

Send a link to a friend  Share

[November 20, 2017]  Legislation introduced by Congressman Darin LaHood to establish a federal designation of Route 66 as a National Historic Trail received a legislative hearing before the Federal Lands Subcommittee of the Natural Resources Committee.

The hearing allowed for Subcommittee members to discuss and ask questions about the bill, and featured Rt. 66 Road Ahead Partnership Chairman Bill Thomas of Atlanta, IL as a witness. Mr. Thomas testified on the benefits of Rt. 66 to communities across the 18th District, the entire country and the need to preserve the road for the future. Rep. LaHood currently serves as the Vice-Chair of the Federal Lands Subcommittee, and has served as a member of it since joining Congress.

“For nearly a century, Rt. 66 has been a crucial transportation artery for the heartland of America. Today’s hearing was a great opportunity to discuss how important the Rt. 66 is to the 18th District and the towns that have helped it gain its notoriety,” stated Rep. LaHood. “These towns, like Atlanta in my district, have seen the Mother Road keep employment and revenues up, leading to a higher quality of life and civic pride. It is vital that we maintain and support Route 66 for future generations, and today’s hearing highlighted why we must ensure it continues to serve as a point of pride for not only the states it runs through, but for the entire country.”

[to top of second column]

Route 66 was an original highway established as part of the U.S. Highway system in 1926. The highway begins in Illinois and ends in California, running through a total of eight states.

Rep. LaHood’s bill (H.R. 801) would designate Route 66 as a National Historic Trail, providing the highway with a permanent program to preserve, promote, and economically develop. It was introduced on February 9, 2017 with Reps. Rodney Davis (R-IL) and Grace F. Napolitano (D-CA) as original cosponsors. The legislation now awaits further action in the House Natural Resources Committee.

[Office of Congressman Darin LaHood, J.D. Dalfonso]


Back to top