2020 Midwest Technical Institute Springfield, Illinois Campus High School Scholarship Winners Announced

Send a link to a friend  Share

[June 25, 2020]    Midwest Technical Institute and sister school, Delta Technical College, are pleased to announce the winners of the 2019-2020 Midwest Technical Institute and Delta Technical College High School Scholarship Program (MTI and DTC HS Scholarship) for graduating high school seniors!

This year, the program awarded a total of 167 scholarships for various amounts between our six MTI and DTC campus locations. In total, these students across MTI and DTC’s campus network will receive approximately $787,000 in MTI and DTC scholarship funds.

We would like to extend a special congratulations to the Full Ride Scholarship winners at the Springfield, IL campus location:

• Kira Exline, Mt. Zion High School: Medical Assisting Program at MTI’s Springfield, IL Campus

• Mason Bennett, Auburn High School: Journeyman Welder II Program at MTI’s Springfield, IL Campus

The winners were determined through a multi-step application process, which included submission of a video detailing why they are interested in pursuing a skilled trade or allied health career. Due to COVID-19, finalists then attended a virtual recorded interview, rather than an in-person interview. Once all interviews had been completed, the Selection Committee reviewed and scored all the finalists’ application videos and recorded interviews in order to select the winners per campus.

“We have been so impressed by the creativity, commitment, and hard work of these graduating seniors, despite the challenges they faced completing their high school education during COVID-19. We’re honored to welcome these MTI scholarship recipients to the East Peoria campus. The staff and faculty at MTI are here to support these future students in taking the next step toward their career goals,” Paul Schaefer, Campus President of MTI’s East Peoria, IL location.

This year, rather than visit winners at their high schools to present their scholarship awards, the MTI and DTC Admissions Team practiced social distancing and other protective measures to reduce the spread of COVID-19 while delivering scholarship awards to students at home. It was important to the MTI DTC team to recognize the creativity, commitment, and hard work of these graduating seniors, despite the challenges presented by COVID-19.

To congratulate the winners, MTI also created a video montage to share the moments when the East Peoria campus winners were surprised with the news of their scholarship prize!

MTI would like to congratulate the following MTI DTC High School Scholarship receipts for the Springfield, IL campus:

• Aidan Leon, Lanphier High School

• Alexander VanAirsdale, Taylorville High School

• Anthony LaRocca, Lanphier High School

• Ashly Ginos, MacArthur High School

• Ben Lindsey, Mount Zion High School

• Benjamin Duez, Olympia High School

• Brady Barker, New Berlin High School

• Brayan Jimenez, Beardstown High School

• Bricelyn Yonker, Taylorville High School 

Brigitte Long, Mt. Olive High School

• Caitlyn Hohimer, Tri-City High School

• Cheyenne Mclain, Litchfield High School

[to top of second column]

• Collin Heckert, Olathe South High School

• Dakota Dunn, Lanphier High School

• Dallas Bertels, Staunton High School

• Darcey Keith, Southeast High School

• Devin Ray, Staunton High School

• Emily Simpson, Athens High School

• Gavin Sell, Riverton High School

• Hunter Graham, Jacksonville High School

• Jakiya Raymond , Springfield Learning Academy

• Jenna Moore, Pleasant Plains High School

• Jezalyn Cunningham, Eisenhower High School

• John Kaitschuk, Pleasant Plains High School

• Josie Bell, Illini Central High School

• Julian Lopez, Staunton High School

• Kayla Gatons, Rochester High School

• Keely Smith, Lanphier High School

• Kira Exline, Mt. Zion High School (Full Ride Scholarship Winner)

• Mason Bennett, Auburn High School (Full Ride Scholarship Winner)

• Mathew Peper, Revive Alt High School
• Ozzie Treakle, Lincoln Community High School, receiving GED at Heartland Community College

• Shawn Hendry, CACC (Capital Area Career Center)

• Shaylin Poore, Illinois School for the Deaf

• Trenton Connoyer, Edwardsville High School

• Trevor Viner, Lincoln Community High School, LTEC (Lincolnland Technical Education Center)

• Zakkary Wills, North Greene High School

For more information and for a full list of the MTI DTC High School Scholarship recipients visit our website: www.MidwestTech.edu

About Midwest Technical Institute
Midwest Technical Institute (MTI) offers hands-on training in a number of career fields, including mechanical trades, allied health, truck driving and cosmetology*. MTI’s goal is to help students enter the workforce in an entry-level position within their chosen career field. Midwest Technical Institute, along with its sister school, Delta Technical College, operates six campuses across the Midwest and Mississippi Delta regions. For more information, visit MidwestTech.edu.
*Not all programs are available at all campus locations.

[Stacey Wierman
Senior Marketing Manager]


Back to top