Saturday, May 8


Illinois Department of Corrections Correctional Officer of the Year awards

Send a link to a friend

[MAY 8, 2004]  SPRINGFIELD -- Gov. Rod Blagojevich on Wednesday recognized four front-line employees of the Illinois Department of Corrections as recipients of the Correctional Officer of the Year Award. He also commended and thanked all the corrections employees for the important work they do in protecting the public from danger.

Correctional Officer Mac-Shane Frank of Pinckneyville Correctional Center, Youth Supervisor III Anthony McGlothian of Illinois Youth Center-Joliet, Youth Supervisor II Jeffery Taylor of Illinois Youth Center-Warrenville and Correctional Residence Counselor I Ernestine Hemmitt of Jessie "Ma" Houston Adult Transition Center were honored at the agency's general headquarters in a ceremony that recognizes excellence in correctional employees and pays tribute to its fallen heroes.

"The front-line employees who make our Illinois prison system a model for the rest of the nation are dedicated, skilled and professional public servants who deserve our thanks and praise," said Blagojevich. "Their daily sacrifices, commitment and fair treatment of prison inmates afford us to live our lives in the safety and comfort we all enjoy."

Nominations for this year's award came from officers recognized at each of the 27 state prisons, eight juvenile centers and eight adult transition centers in the Illinois Department of Corrections. This year's top four front-line employees were presented with a $500 check, membership in the American Correctional Association and given the opportunity to address those present for the award. The nominees are judged on leadership, initiative, professionalism and service to their community and career.

IDOC's top four front-line staff winners

Mac-Shane Frank, correctional officer at Pinckneyville Correctional Center, joined the Illinois Department of Corrections in 1998. Frank is a diversified employee, serving as a movement, tower, escort, infirmary, pod, gym, wing, inner and outer patrol, and armory officer. He demonstrates a high level of initiative, is judicious in carrying out assignments and constantly displays excellent intuitive judgment. Frank has gained respect with all ranks in the department through his knowledge, leadership, attitude, communications skills and initiative. As a TACT team member and TACT squad leader, he displays a strong personal commitment to achieve positive results in emergency situations. Frank earned a bachelor's degree in psychology and administration of justice from Southern Illinois University-Carbondale. He was named recipient of the 2002 Robert C. Radtke Leadership Award from the Psychology Department of SIU-C and was granted lifetime membership in Psi Chi, the National Honor Society in Psychology.

Anthony McGlothian, Youth Supervisor III at Illinois Youth Center-Joliet, began his career with the Department of Corrections in 1993. McGlothian represents the center as an institutional screener for the department's various testing sites. He assists in the hiring process of applicants once the application information list has been released from the central screening unit. When new hires arrive at the facility, he ensures they are processed in a timely manner and provides them the information needed to begin their new careers. He also represents the center at various job fairs. McGlothain volunteers to work overtime past his shift and also works on his days off when needed on short notice. He exhibits the attitude and professional demeanor that the department requires of security personal. This attitude and demeanor is what he lives by in his everyday life.

Jeffery Taylor, youth supervisor II at Illinois Youth Center-Warrenville, started his career at the Department of Corrections in 1999. Taylor has worked numerous security posts and shifts. His professionalism, firmness and sense of duty make him a respected voice in the everyday lives of the female offenders at IYC-Warrenville. Taylor serves as a cycle training instructor as well as a chemical agent instructor for the institution. He also serves on the correctional officer screening team for new officer candidates. Taylor demonstrates an ability to accomplish goals with minimum supervision. He sets the standards to go to the next hurdle of his career.


[to top of second column in this article]

Ernestine Hemmitt, correctional residence counselor I at Jessie "Ma" Houston Adult Transition Center, joined the Department of Corrections in 1987 as a correctional officer at Joliet Correctional Center. She became a CRCI in 2001. She currently serves as a vehicle-accident and room assignment coordinator at the center. She was named Employee of the Quarter for October-December 2003. Hemmitt exemplifies true professionalism. She accepts and completes assignments on target with a positive attitude. She is very flexible and is committed to teamwork.

Facility nominees

Facility nominees include Big Muddy River Correctional Center Correctional Officer Gregory Scott, Centralia Correctional Center Sgt. Curt Rueter, Danville Correctional Center C.O. Matthew Morgeson, Decatur Correctional Center Sgt. Lee Koeing, Dixon Correctional Center C.O. John Looney;

Dwight Correctional Center C.O. Gary Smith, East Moline Correctional Center C.O. Mark DeFauw, Graham Correctional Center C.O. James Sneddon and C.O. Scott Myers, Hill Correctional Center C.O. Raul Martinez, Illinois River Correctional Center C.O. Donald Draper, Jacksonville Correctional Center C.O. Donald Evans, Lawrence Correctional Center C.O. Dave Rohr;

Lincoln Correctional Center C.O. John Call, Logan Correctional Center C.O. Heath Brummett, Menard Correctional Center Sgt. Ed Mayo, Pinckneyville Correctional Center C.O. Mac-Shane Frank, Pontiac Correctional Center C.O. James Barnard, Robinson Correctional Center C.O. Janet Langley, Shawnee Correctional Center C.O. Ricky Pearl, Sheridan Correctional Center C.O. Sgt. Teresa Veasey, Southwestern Illinois Correctional Center C.O. Jerid Pickford, Stateville Correctional Center C.O. Sgt. Bernard Gower, Tamms Correctional Center C.O. Todd Vick, Taylorville Correctional Center C.O. David Booker, Vandalia Correctional Center C.O. Greg Smith, Vienna Correctional Center C.O. Robert Etheridge, Western Illinois Correctional Center C.O. Chad Baker;

Illinois Youth Center-Chicago Youth Supervisor II Yolanda Lewicka, Illinois Youth Center- Harrisburg YSIII Shain Miller, Illinois Youth Center-Joliet YSIII Anthony McGlothian, Illinois Youth Center-Kewanee YSII Rich Dana, Illinois Youth Center-Murphysboro YSII Roger King, Illinois Youth Center-Pere Marquette YSII Eric Slightom, Illinois Youth Center-St. Charles YSII Virginia LeSure, Illinois Youth Center-Warrenville YSII Jeffery Taylor;

West Side Adult Transition Center Correctional Residence Counselor I Donald Brown, Fox Valley Adult Transition Center CRCI Dennis Duehning, Decatur Adult Transition Center CRCI Rosalind White, Jessie "Ma" Houston Adult Transition Center  CRCI Ernestine Hemmitt, Peoria Adult Transition Center CRCI Sharon Bailey, Crossroads Adult Transition Center CRCI Maxine Walker, North Lawndale Adult Transition Center CRCI Charles Sanders.

[News release from the governor's office]

< Top Stories index

Back to top


News | Sports | Business | Rural Review | Teaching & Learning | Home and Family | Tourism | Obituaries

Community | Perspectives | Law & Courts | Leisure Time | Spiritual Life | Health & Fitness | Teen Scene
Calendar | Letters to the Editor