Calendar  |  Menus

Lincoln Academy ceremony in Springfield on Saturday to recognize top college students in Illinois

Send a link to a friend

[November 05, 2009]  SPRINGFIELD -- The Lincoln Academy of Illinois will honor outstanding senior college students during its annual Student Laureate Convocation at 11 a.m. Saturday at the Old State Capitol State Historic Site in Springfield. A student from Lincoln College, Mubeen A. Khan of Wheeling, is also among the honorees.

The Lincoln Academy's Student Laureate Awards are presented for excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities to seniors from each of the four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities in Illinois. At the convocation, each student will receive a medallion, along with an honorarium check and certificate of achievement. This event will mark the 35th year that students have been honored by the Lincoln Academy.

"These students have exhibited a personal commitment to excel as seen by their remarkable academic accomplishments," said John B. Simon, chancellor of the Lincoln Academy. He added: "They serve as role models to other Illinois students. With hardworking and dedicated young leaders such as these, Illinois and the rest of the nation can look forward to a bright future."

Judge Richard Mills of the United States District Court for the Central District of Illinois will deliver the keynote address. The invocation will be delivered by academy trustee Rev. Ruben I. Cruz, and the benediction will be given by Dr. Samuel Goldman, chancellor of Southern Illinois University Carbondale. The Sangamon Woodwind Consort will provide music, and a luncheon at the governor's mansion will follow the convocation.

The Lincoln Academy, unique among the 50 states, was established 45 years ago to honor Illinois' most distinguished citizens with the state's highest award, the Order of Lincoln. The 2010 Order of Lincoln Convocation will be April 17, 2010, in Chicago.


Student laureates
(School, student, hometown)

  • Augustana College -- Max C. Peterson, Mundelein

  • Aurora University -- Jessica J. Wernli, Sterling

  • Benedictine University -- Maria Jauch, Palatine

  • Blackburn College -- Brett Allen, Staunton

  • Bradley University -- Marcus J. Belin, Chicago

  • Chicago State University -- Quiana M. Hardy, Richton Park

  • Concordia University -- Amanda J. Finke, League City, Texas

  • DePaul University -- Francisco Valencia, Chicago

  • Dominican University -- Cicely Bonilla, Chicago

  • Eastern Illinois University -- William M. Wolf, Erie

  • Elmhurst College -- Robert J. Strzemp, Oak Park

  • Eureka College -- Elizabeth C. Hoff, Hendrum, Minn.

  • Governors State University -- Adam A. Taylor, Matteson

  • Greenville College -- Stephen M. Groves, Greenville

  • Illinois College -- Lydia M. Martin, York Springs, Pa.

  • Illinois Institute of Technology -- Daniel J. Votipka, Nashville, N.C.

  • Illinois State University -- Douglas M. Johnson, Gibson City

  • Illinois Wesleyan University -- Emily C. Vock, Bloomington

[to top of second column]


  • Knox College -- Sarah T. Kurian, Elburn

  • Lake Forest College -- Jaime Perez, Highland Park

  • Lewis University -- Ashley D. Jones, Naperville

  • Lincoln College -- Mubeen A. Khan, Wheeling

  • Loyola University -- Antonio Giron, Chicago

  • MacMurray College -- Melissa J. Naberhaus, Warrenville

  • McKendree College -- Margaret L. Rahmoeller, Webster Groves, Mo.

  • Millikin University -- Amanda L. McMillion, Oswego

  • Monmouth College -- John A. Kaiser, Hanover Park

  • North Central College -- Stephanie R. Ryding, Naperville

  • Northeastern Illinois University -- Sunil Mahadeshwar, Chicago

  • Northern Illinois University -- Shay M. Galto, Wheaton

  • North Park University -- Lukas E. Dahlstrom, Etna, N.H.

  • Olivet Nazarene University -- Jasper P. Taylor, Flossmoor

  • Principia College -- Chelsea B. Kendrick, Bethesda, Md.

  • Quincy University -- Kari D. Miller, Camp Point

  • Rockford College -- Alix A. Sauld, Ripon, Wis.

  • Roosevelt University -- Mallory A. Umar, Chicago

  • St. Xavier University -- Sarah A. Rakauskas, Chicago

  • Southern Illinois University Carbondale -- Toni D. Whitfield, Johnston City

  • Southern Illinois University Edwardsville -- Stephen J. Garland, Pontoon Beach

  • Trinity Christian University -- Jonathan E. VanderWoude, Cutler Bay, Fla.

  • Trinity International University -- Stephanie K. McDearmon, Morrison

  • University of Chicago -- Anya Thetford, Chicago

  • University of Illinois Chicago -- Esther A. Ogedengbe, Bolingbrook

  • University of Illinois Springfield -- Priyanka N. Deo, Chicago

  • University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign -- Mark H. Paik, Des Plaines

  • University of St. Francis -- Matthew M. Bisek, Palos Hills

  • Western Illinois University -- Matthew J. Barr, Belvidere

  • Lewis and Clark Community College -- Kary M. Holliday, Alton

[Text from Lincoln Academy of Illinois file]


< Recent articles

Back to top


News | Sports | Business | Rural Review | Teaching & Learning | Home and Family | Tourism | Obituaries

Community | Perspectives | Law & Courts | Leisure Time | Spiritual Life | Health & Fitness | Teen Scene
Calendar | Letters to the Editor