| 
            
			Langer 'certain' he has not broken putting rule 
			
		 
		Send a link to a friend  
 
			
			
			 [July 08, 2017] 
			Bernhard Langer of Germany hits 
			from a deep bunker on the seventh hole during the 2017 Masters in 
			Augusta 
			Bernhard Langer of Germany holds his ball on the second green during 
			the 2017 Masters in Augusta 
			(Reuters) - Bernhard Langer issued a statement on Friday saying he 
			is "certain" he has not been violating a rule banning players from 
			anchoring their putter during their stroke. 
			 
			Golf Channel analyst and former PGA Tour player Brandel Chamblee 
			stoked controversy in a Golf Channel column on Wednesday by calling 
			Langer's putting stroke into question. 
			 
			Langer, a former world number one and two-time Masters champion, 
			said his stroke did not breach the rule. 
			 
			“I’m certain that I am not anchoring the putter and that my putting 
			stroke is not violating the Rules of Golf,” Langer said in a 
			statement released via the PGA Tour. 
			 
			“I have been in contact with the USGA and rules officials ... and 
			each time I have been assured that my putting stroke is within the 
			Rules of Golf. 
			
			  
			
			"I will continue to play with the same integrity that I’ve displayed 
			throughout my career.” 
			 
			In his column, Chamblee wrote, "... I cannot believe what I am 
			seeing on PGA Tour Champions, with regard to the putting strokes of 
			Bernhard Langer and Scott McCarron. 
			
			  
			
			"When the anchored-putting ban went into effect in January 2016, 
			putting techniques and lives changed," he added. 
			 
			"... Langer did not alter his long putter anchored (looking) putting 
			technique, except to say he was moving the butt end away from his 
			body after making practice strokes with it touching his body.” 
			 
			
            [to top of second column]  | 
            
             
            
			  
            
			Bernhard Langer of Germany holds his ball on the second green in 
			first round play during the 2017 Masters golf tournament at Augusta 
			National Golf Club in Augusta, Georgia, U.S., April 6, 2017. 
			REUTERS/Jonathan Ernst 
            
			  
            The rule states that “while making a stroke, a player 
			may not anchor the club (i) ‘directly’ or (ii) indirectly through 
			use of an ‘anchor point’,” noting that an anchor point exists when 
			the player intentionally holds a forearm in contact with any part of 
			his body to establish a gripping hand as a stable point around which 
			the other hand may swing the club. 
			 
			Chamblee wrote that it was the use of the word “intentionally” that 
			had created a grey area. 
			 
			“Intent is the get-out-of-jail-free card for both the player and 
			those who are meant to police the player,” he wrote. 
			 
			In a statement released along with Langer’s, the United States Golf 
			Association (USGA) said it had seen “no evidence” of any player 
			breaching the rule. 
			 
			“We are confident that Rule (14-1b) has been applied fairly and 
			consistently and have seen no evidence of a player breaching the 
			rule, which does not prohibit a hand or club to touch a player’s 
			clothing in making a stroke.” 
			 
			(Reporting by Andrew Both in Cary, North Carolina; Editing by Peter 
			Rutherford) [© 2017 Thomson Reuters. All 
			rights reserved.] 
			Copyright 2017 Reuters. All rights 
			reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten 
			or redistributed. 
			
			
			   |