| The infraction came at the par-five 15th and 
				the penalty means the Mexican made a triple-bogey at the hole, 
				leaving him in a tie for 52nd place, 10 strokes behind leader 
				Justin Rose.
 "After Mr. Ancer had signed his scorecard ... video evidence was 
				reviewed by the Committee regarding a potential breach of Rule 
				12.2b(1), which states that touching sand in a bunker right 
				behind the ball results in a penalty," Augusta National said.
 
 "The touching of the sand was deemed visible to the naked eye. 
				Had this not been the case, the video evidence would have been 
				disregarded and a penalty would not have been applied."
 
 Ancer, playing in his second Masters, said he had been informed 
				the penalty was for "unintentionally grazing the sand" with his 
				backswing.
 
 "While I'm gutted, I can't wait to get after it tomorrow," he 
				tweeted.
 
 (Reporting by Manasi Pathak in Bengaluru; Editing by Peter 
				Rutherford)
 
			[© 2021 Thomson Reuters. All rights 
				reserved.] Copyright 2021 Reuters. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, 
			broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.  
			Thompson Reuters is solely responsible for this content. |  |