In this 1924 file photo, Notre Dame's backfield, "The Four Horsemen" -- from left, Don Miller, Elmer Layden, Jim Crowley and Harry Stuhldreherare -- pose on the practice field in South Bend, Ind. Notre Dame, led by the famed Four Horsemen, finished 10-0 in 1925. No national champion was declared at the time, but two years later University of Illinois economics professor Frank Dickinson devised a mathematical point system to determine a champion. Notre Dame coach Knute Rockne persuaded Dickinson to retroactively determine a national champion for the 1925 (Dartmouth) and 1924 seasons.

AP photo  (Click on photo for larger image.)

Today's Top Sports Stories



------ COLLEGE ------


------ COLLEGE ------


Recent Sports News Index


Civic Events

click on buttons for additional information

2012 Schnucks Holiday Classic

LCHS Schedules