Monday, July 3

State dignitaries join Mayor Beth Davis in Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial kickoff

Send a link to a friend

[JUNE 3, 2006]  LINCOLN -- Abraham Lincoln bicentennial commencement of “First city to live the legacy,” launched what is sure to be many memorable events over the next four years. The balmy Sunday evening program held in front of University Hall at Lincoln College began the 200-year celebration of the birth of our community’s namesake and U.S. President, Abraham Lincoln

Special guests included Lt. Gov. candidate Joe Birkett, Congressman Ray LaHood Senator Larry Bomke, State Rep. Rich Brauer, Mayor Beth Davis, Rep. and Lincoln College president John Hutchinson joined in singing the Star Spangled Banner led by Mary Kay (Fedor) Lorenz on the stairs to Lincoln College’s University Hall.

Each of the speakers shared some treasured aspect of the legacy left by A. Lincoln. Birkett, Dupage County States Attorney said that he utilizes some of the advice that Lincoln left including avoid litigation and “get paid first,” which brought chuckles.

President Abraham Lincoln (interpreted by Gary Simpkins) drew the audience back in time to when the nation was steeped in the anguish of a civil war. It was July 3rd and what would later be understood as some of the darkest and most tumultuous days of Lincoln’s presidency. Union and Confederate soldiers entered into a bloody battle at a field in Gettysburg that left 10,000 soldiers dead by morning on July 4. This led Lincoln to make decisions that were unpopular in both the north and the south in his struggle to free slaves yet not divide the nation. He concluded with a heartfelt reading of the Gettysburg Address.

The Lincoln Commission is composed of chairs: City of Lincoln Mayor Beth Davis, Lincoln College curator Ron Keller; Lincoln College president John Hutchinson, Abraham Lincoln Historian, Paul Gleason; Abraham Lincoln Historian, Paul Beaver; Postville Courthouse coordinator Shirley Bartlemay; Abraham Lincoln Tourism Bureau of Logan County director Geoff Ladd; Alderman/Main Street director Wanda Lee Rohlfs; Lincoln/Logan County Chamber of Commerce director Bobbi Abbott; Logan Railsplitting Association coordinator Darlene Begolka and Honorary commission member Charles Ott.

The city is honored to have the following members serving on the National Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Commission advisory committee: Ron Keller, John Hutchinson, Paul Gleason and Paul Beaver. Keller is serving on the Illinois commission as well.

The committee would like to receive your ideas for future events and invite you to contact any member.

[Jan Youngquist]

< Top Stories index

Back to top


News | Sports | Business | Rural Review | Teaching & Learning | Home and Family | Tourism | Obituaries

Community | Perspectives | Law & Courts | Leisure Time | Spiritual Life | Health & Fitness | Teen Scene
Calendar | Letters to the Editor