seat restraints for children detailed in new law
Send a link to a friend
Illinois Child Passenger Protection Act updates effective Jan. 1,
SPRINGFIELD -- Public Act
83-8, the Child Passenger Protection Act, has been in effect in
Illinois since July 1, 1983. The law, amended effective Jan. 1,
2004, requires anyone who transports children in Illinois in
non-commercial vehicles to do so in the following manner:
--Children under the age of 8 years
must be secured in an appropriate child restraint system, more
commonly called a child safety seat. Child safety seats include
infant seats, convertible seats (rear-facing for infants and
forward-facing for toddlers) and booster seats that are used with
the vehicle lap and shoulder belt system.
--Children weighing more than 40 pounds
may be transported in the back seat of a motor vehicle while wearing
only a lap belt if the back seat is not equipped with a lap and
shoulder belt system.
--Children and young people from 8
years old up to 16 years of age must be secured in a properly
adjusted safety belt in any position in the vehicle.
--The parent or legal guardian of a
child under the age of 8 years is responsible for providing a child
safety seat to anyone who transports his or her child.
--Every person under the age of 18
years who transports a child 8 years of age or older (up to 18
years) is responsible for securing that child in a properly adjusted
and fastened safety belt or child safety seat.
[to top of second column in
Those found in violation of the law the
first time will be fined $50, which is waived upon proof of
possession of an approved safety seat. Subsequent violations are
punishable by a $100 fine.
Children with physical disabilities
that prevent the use of standard safety seats are exempt from the
provisions of the law if the disability is duly certified by a
information summary is provided by the
Illinois Department of
Transportation, Division of Traffic Safety, located at 3215
Executive Park Drive, P.O. Box 19245, Springfield, IL 62794-9245; 1